Am I Crazy, or Is This a Great Idea for a Scam?

I was playing poker at Full Tilt Poker tonight when across the chat board comes an official-looking message saying that an employee of Full Tilt was arrested for stealing $200,000. The message says for full information go to http://www.fulltilt-cnn.com. (Don’t go clicking on things there until you read further!)

The URL seemed fishy. So I went to Google News and searched for news of the arrest. Nothing. So I went to this fulltilt-cnn.com web page. It looks a whole lot like the cnn.com web page, but this must be a scam. I haven’t worked up the courage to click on the video links. I suspect something very evil lurks behind them.

Maybe somebody who knows something about these sorts of things can check it out? Steve Peisner, are you out there?

I have to hand it to the con men, if that is what is going on here. Great idea to make a bunch of people with lots of cash in their poker accounts think that the accounts have been compromised, leading them to divulge their passwords.

Luckily, the execution (as is so often the case with scams) doesn’t measure up to the idea.

Leave A Comment

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

 

COMMENTS: 51

  1. kr8tr says:

    A couple of clues here that show this is an unsafe site – first, in the “View Source” for the page:

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. kr8tr says:

    A couple of clues here that show this is an unsafe site – first, in the “View Source” for the page:

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  3. kr8tr says:

    OK, sending this again, since your comment system stripped out a lot of what I sent…

    A couple of clues here that show this is an unsafe site – first, in the “View Source” for the page:

    “Hide me from lame browsers”

    ‘Lame Browsers’ isn’t something a professional site would include in the HTML.

    More telling though is this, also from the source of the page: “FullTiltPoker-Video0129-LiveStream.mpg.exe”

    You don’t embed videos with an EXE extension.

    This is funny because they obviously went to a lot of troubel to recreate the CNN site, and they were creative in sending messages during a poker game… but looking at the source code for the web page takes only a couple of seconds and you can tell it’s just not right.

    If I were you I would remove the link to the site from your post – you are just helping the bad guys (at least don’t make it a hyperlink).

    And no, I am no security expert.

    Rob

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  4. kr8tr says:

    OK, sending this again, since your comment system stripped out a lot of what I sent…

    A couple of clues here that show this is an unsafe site – first, in the “View Source” for the page:

    “Hide me from lame browsers”

    ‘Lame Browsers’ isn’t something a professional site would include in the HTML.

    More telling though is this, also from the source of the page: “FullTiltPoker-Video0129-LiveStream.mpg.exe”

    You don’t embed videos with an EXE extension.

    This is funny because they obviously went to a lot of troubel to recreate the CNN site, and they were creative in sending messages during a poker game… but looking at the source code for the web page takes only a couple of seconds and you can tell it’s just not right.

    If I were you I would remove the link to the site from your post – you are just helping the bad guys (at least don’t make it a hyperlink).

    And no, I am no security expert.

    Rob

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  5. carty64 says:

    If you hold the mouse over the video link you can see that it will run a .exe program, BAD NEWS!!

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  6. carty64 says:

    If you hold the mouse over the video link you can see that it will run a .exe program, BAD NEWS!!

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  7. Mack says:

    For what it’s worth, from WHOIS:

    fulltilt-cnn.com
    Created 2007-07-25
    HENDRIK DEJONGHE
    P O Box 99800
    Emeryville CA 94662

    Probably none of that is accurate, except the creation date.

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  8. Mack says:

    For what it’s worth, from WHOIS:

    fulltilt-cnn.com
    Created 2007-07-25
    HENDRIK DEJONGHE
    P O Box 99800
    Emeryville CA 94662

    Probably none of that is accurate, except the creation date.

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0