Am I Crazy, or Is This a Great Idea for a Scam?

I was playing poker at Full Tilt Poker tonight when across the chat board comes an official-looking message saying that an employee of Full Tilt was arrested for stealing $200,000. The message says for full information go to http://www.fulltilt-cnn.com. (Don’t go clicking on things there until you read further!)

The URL seemed fishy. So I went to Google News and searched for news of the arrest. Nothing. So I went to this fulltilt-cnn.com web page. It looks a whole lot like the cnn.com web page, but this must be a scam. I haven’t worked up the courage to click on the video links. I suspect something very evil lurks behind them.

Maybe somebody who knows something about these sorts of things can check it out? Steve Peisner, are you out there?

I have to hand it to the con men, if that is what is going on here. Great idea to make a bunch of people with lots of cash in their poker accounts think that the accounts have been compromised, leading them to divulge their passwords.

Luckily, the execution (as is so often the case with scams) doesn’t measure up to the idea.

Leave A Comment

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

 

COMMENTS: 51

  1. kr8tr says:

    I did report this to the Microsoft anti-phishing site, as it is obviously a bad place to click.

    Rob

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. kr8tr says:

    I did report this to the Microsoft anti-phishing site, as it is obviously a bad place to click.

    Rob

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  3. KWarner04 says:

    Also, a quick check of the actual CNN.com site shows a completely different layout.

    I usually check CNN (along with Freakonomics and few other sites) when I get to work in the morning and about 2-3 weeks ago, they changed the layout up quite a bit. That was actually the first tip off for me. And not to mention what some of the others said.

    I’d also be willing to bet that not all of those that got the message were as careful.

    Also, I’d recommend running a full virus scan sometime in the next day or so if you visit the site…just to be on the safe side.

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  4. KWarner04 says:

    Also, a quick check of the actual CNN.com site shows a completely different layout.

    I usually check CNN (along with Freakonomics and few other sites) when I get to work in the morning and about 2-3 weeks ago, they changed the layout up quite a bit. That was actually the first tip off for me. And not to mention what some of the others said.

    I’d also be willing to bet that not all of those that got the message were as careful.

    Also, I’d recommend running a full virus scan sometime in the next day or so if you visit the site…just to be on the safe side.

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  5. kr8tr says:

    KWarner04 – I checked – and I am running on a computer that is pretty much set up for looking at this type of site – just visiting the URL won’t do any harm.

    Clicking though is a different story.

    Better to not even look at it though, since it’s already been identified as “evil”. They could change something quickly and just a visit could be bad (that’s why I suggested removing the link)

    Rob

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  6. kr8tr says:

    KWarner04 – I checked – and I am running on a computer that is pretty much set up for looking at this type of site – just visiting the URL won’t do any harm.

    Clicking though is a different story.

    Better to not even look at it though, since it’s already been identified as “evil”. They could change something quickly and just a visit could be bad (that’s why I suggested removing the link)

    Rob

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  7. The .exe posing as a video link is dangerous. I downloaded it to a Unix host and ran strings on the binary. One choice snippet: “This wizard will help you installing eMando Remote on this computer so it can be
    controlled remotely from eMando Operator or eMando Viewer.”

    If you “downloaded” and ran it on a Windows PC the con man would have the ability to silently remote control your PC. (S)he would be able to get a lot more than just your Full Tilt poker password off your machine…

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  8. The .exe posing as a video link is dangerous. I downloaded it to a Unix host and ran strings on the binary. One choice snippet: “This wizard will help you installing eMando Remote on this computer so it can be
    controlled remotely from eMando Operator or eMando Viewer.”

    If you “downloaded” and ran it on a Windows PC the con man would have the ability to silently remote control your PC. (S)he would be able to get a lot more than just your Full Tilt poker password off your machine…

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0